Our Favourite Record Labels of All Time – Number 9

food

Food Records

Food Records was set up in the middle of the eighties and was the home to bands like Diesel Park West, Crazyhead, Brilliant and The Woodentops.  All bands that when I was in my late teens I should have been listening to, but I was instead listening to Annie Lennox being spooky and a bunch of other stuff that is best not admitted to.

The first CD single that SWC ever bought was on Food Records.  It was the CD single of ‘Real Real Real’ by Jesus Jones (FOOD24).  He’ll deny that until the cows come home (actually no I won’t – it cost me £1.50 from Rainham Records and had a decent remix as track three, which featured a sample telling you to “Put a Live Chicken in your underwear” – SWC) but its 100% true.

SWC told me this after a drunken night in Wakefield, when we were in a rubbish 80s retro bar on St Patricks Day (called the Mars Bar, if I remember rightly, it was called something different in the early nineties).  This was after I told him that I had played once played live in the same bar in around 1991 as the guitarist in a student indie covers band.

He asked me what tracks we covered and I admitted that we always used to open with a three guitar rock out version of ‘Info Freako’ by Jesus Jones, which sounds just as bad as the way I have described it. A thing that SWC later used in a piece he wrote over at the T(n)VV on imaginary band The Badgers.

‘Info Freako’ remains my favourite record ever released on Food Records, however, TSOBO Rule #7 states that “You must never ever post a track by any of the following indie bands Jesus Jones, Molly Halfhead, Blab Happy or Thousand Yard Stare” so I am contractually obliged to agree with that.

So here are my next three favourite releases on Food Records

This Is A Low – Blur (FOOD 57)

Stars – Dubstar (FOOD 61)

Beautiful Alone – Strangelove (FOOD 81)

Oh and a note from SWC “If anyone has a copy of FOOD 33 ‘Maniac’ by Sensitize that they want to share with him please get in contact in the normal way – thank you”.

Now all things being good, today is Friday.  Which means that on Monday as part of Record Label rundown, we are due a quiz….Yup….A Quiz on a Monday morning.  With a prize.

 

4 thoughts on “Our Favourite Record Labels of All Time – Number 9

  1. I seem to have a 10″ boxed single of Right Here, Right Now currently in my sightline on the record shelf…Why? I ask myself, what possessed me? Have I even EVER played it?
    As for Food, David Balfe’s reward, in my mind, for a stellar Post Punk career, there were some interesting releases by Diesel Park West, Crazyhead, Dubstar, Brilliant, Zodiac Mindwarp, oh yeah and Blur.

    Like

  2. Just catching up with a backlog of your posts during a “quiet” moment at work. SWC I have FOOD 33 Maniac CD Single as well as the follow up Falling Through (FOOD 38) on CD and Sloth Cack Coloured 7″ which includes a live version of Maniac which is marginally better than the cover of Teenage Kicks on the CD. I dug them out of a record shop bargain bin at the time of release. GM

    Like

Leave a comment